Japan Diary: March 16th (2010)

Tuesday March 16th (2010) – “Like a date”

Today both Hiro and I were up relatively early. We were both sitting in the living room, like always and I hoped he would come up with some kind of idea of how to spend the day. I wanted to go somewhere and what surprised me the most was that I wanted to go somewhere with him.

“What should we do?” I asked in a whiny voice.

Hiro looked at me and I could tell he was trying to think.

“What do you want to do?”

“I don’t know” I said and pretended to think, but in reality I was just waiting for him to come up with an idea.

Hiro got up and went to get his computer from his room, and then he started to search for famous places in Miyazaki.

“We could go to Umagasa.”

“Sure!” I had no idea of where that was, but I was longing to get out of the house.

We got in the car and began our “journey”. After some time Hiro tickled my knee again.

“Why?” I laughed and brushed his hand away.

“Why? Why?” Hiro repeated and made a small laugh.

Our first stop was at an observation building of some kind. From there you were presented with a beautiful view of the mountains, the coast and the blue ocean.

I took a lot of pictures and suddenly Hiro put his arm around me, but only for a very brief moment before he took a step back. What was he doing? While we were walking back to the car, Hiro stretched his hand out towards me, gestured me to take it, but I pushed it away. I feared he was joking around with me and didn’t want to look like a fool. If he was playing games with me, I wanted to be the winner.

We made another stop to enjoy the views of the sea and cliffs create the image of a cross, before reaching our main destination, Umagasa.

In order to see the cliff formation in the shape of a “horse back” (hence the name) you had to walk along narrow paths. Hiro gestured that I should take his arm, first I only laughed, but when he didn’t take it back and decided to play along and we ended up walking arm in arm.

“It’s like a date, right?” Hiro said and I made a short, awkward laugh.

Wen we reached the cliff formations, we let go of each other in order for me to take pictures. After that, we continued our walk, though separated. We reached the cliffs, which faced the open ocean, and we went to enjoy the view.

Like always there was silence between us, but for some reason I knew just what to ask.

“Why don’t you have a girlfriend?”

Hiro gave me a small laugh and seemed to think for a second. He said that with his current job it was a bit difficult. Him being away on a ship for 5 weeks at the time was not ideal. We decided to go back to the car, but this time around Hiro didn’t offer any hands or arms.  On the way home Hiro tickled my knee again. It was becoming a habit.

That evening we ate dinner like usual and then waited for Hiro’s parents to go to bed. When we were finally left alone in the big dining room, we looked at each other and I wondered if my face was turning red. He asked if we should go rent some movies, I had no interest in watching anything, but said yes. Guess I just wanted the opportunity to leave the house. We rented two American movies, with titles I can’t remember. Guess that showed my level of enthusiasm. I think I spent more time watching Hiro’s face, than the movies. When did I become such a silly girl? I wanted to kick myself under the table. After the movies, we talked for a bit and then Hiro suddenly touched my hair.

“It’s different than Japanese hair. So soft.” He said.

After having convinced my mouth to close and my face to stop looking stupid – especially getting rid of that kinda scared paralyzed look, I touched his hair as well. Not sure why I did it, since I had tried touching Japanese hair before, when I a year earlier had gotten very “friendly” with a guy in Tokyo. Who was I even fooling with that expression – “friends” don’t really do what we did.

After a little more “awkward time” we said our goodnights and went to bed.

Leave a Reply

